“Slow psychiatry” moving towards the Recovery Model

Sandra Steingard, MD, explores “Slow Psychiatry: Integrating Need-Adapted Approaches with Drug-Centered Pharmacology”

For the past four years, I have been deconstructing my views of my profession.  My focus has been primarily on two areas: the efficacy and safety of the drugs I prescribe and so-called “alternative” approaches (in this I include many things such as Open Dialogue, Hearing Voices groups, and Intentional Peer Support to name a few). I have shared much of this in the blogs I wrote during this time. I am also interested in how we can improve and reform the public mental health system since this is not only where I work but where most people seek services and help. I have wondered where – if anywhere – psychiatrists fit in to a reformed system. …

Reflections on the Medicalization of Mental Health Care; The Drug-Centered Approach; How can we reconcile these observations with a drug-centered approach? and more…

Sandra-Steingard

http://www.mentalhealthexcellence.org/slow-psychiatry-integrating-need-adapted-approaches-with-drug-centered-pharmacology/

 

Leave a Reply

