Students launch Ottawa “street paper” THE WRENCH

Writing, social analysis and creativity meet — community enterprise. Maurice Vernier’s poem demonstrates.

Maurice Vernier

A wrench might sound strange to you

But it is a tool to help make something new

We can help things in life that need fixing

A journal to teach information is missing

 

The Wrench is just a paper, a paper indeed

A fresh dip of water for the dry little seed

To help give light and direction to a lost soul

To bring us back to security of the fold

 

I might be broken now but I am fixable

I can look at your life to help make [mine] better

That [is why] I look in The Wrench for some answers

With your example and triumph I am capable

 

I don’t care about yesterday but plan for tomorrow

Indeed my life can change without any sorrow

Thank God you put [our lives] down on paper

Looking at The Wrench I can live happily ever after

http://ottawawrench.ca/

cropped-possible-background-3-1.png

Leave a Reply

